View Issue Details

IDProjectCategoryView StatusLast Update
0002949phplist applicationAll Otherpublic09-07-05 01:31
Reporterfredvogels 
PrioritynormalSeverityminorReproducibilityalways
Status resolvedResolutionfixed 
Product Version 
Target VersionFixed in Version2.9.5 
Summary0002949: Unsubsribers on blacklist
DescriptionAs I saw - and I think that should not so - is the issue that unsubscribers are put on the blacklist. It means they can not subscribe again?
Also I cannot find an easy to replace these poor unsubscribers from the black list unless you go to the sql-database.
So once unsubscribed, always unsubscribed :-)
Fred
www.backtonormandy.org
TagsNo tags attached.

Relationships

related to 0002457 resolvedmichiel PHPList v2.9.5 release 

Activities

michiel

12-04-05 14:56

manager   ~0004276

No, you can manually take them off in the history of a user. But it's made a little bit awkward on purpose, because it is expecting that if a user unsubscribes they really do not want to receive any more emails.

fredvogels

12-04-05 15:02

reporter   ~0004277

Thanks for your explanation

I was wondering - because of the law on registration of personal information - that people once they unsubscribe, their information has to be completely removed. It is only a suggestion for further investigation

Fred

michiel

12-04-05 15:12

manager   ~0004279

That's the responsability of the list manager and will be different for every single country in the world. As phplist is global, it will have to be applied locally by whoever manages the system.

In many cases it will be required to keep the information, at least for a while, in order to update other (in house) databases.

jflowers

15-04-05 18:05

reporter   ~0004359

Note that in phplist-2.9.4 javascript for removing users from blacklist does not work in either Firefox 1.0 or IE 6.

I also don't get a list of lists when using the browser to unsubscribe an email address that subscribes to more than one list.

jflowers

15-04-05 18:43

reporter   ~0004362

I suppose I should have looked first. The nice javascript console in the Firefox plugin told me that deleteRec2 could not be found.

The solution was adding the following ahead of the opening <? php:
<script language="Javascript" src="js/jslib.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
in userhistory.php

michiel

15-04-05 18:50

manager   ~0004365

aha, jflowers, thanks for finding that. I'll update it. As for the list of lists to unsubscribe from, this has changed in the 2.9 versions. Unsubscribing takes you off every single list and stops sending messages forever. This is because too many people have problems with re-imported emails that are sent again, when people have unsubscribed, so it is to avoid becoming a spammers tool (with or without intent). People who want to change memberships should be redirected to the preferences page instead.

jflowers

15-04-05 20:08

reporter   ~0004370

Yes, I sussed that out. What confused me is that I didn't get a complete list when going to the preferences page. I expected to see all the lists I had subscribed to in order to opt out of one or more. What I get is a partial list depending on how I signed up (as a subscriber).

1. Sign up for newsletterA and newsletterB using Signup Page 1

   Now when I get to preferences I can uncheck either one

2. Now, sign up for newsletterC and newsletterD using Signup Page 2

   When I go to preferences I can uncheck newsletterC and/or newsletterD but there is nothing there for newsletterA or newsletterB.

PHP code is a little tough for me to follow so I haven't been able to figure it out. Looks like it is locking on the 'signup page' and then iterating through the lists when it should be iterating through the 'signup pages' as well.

I hope someone familiar with the flow of the code can take a look at it and resolve this functionality.

michiel

09-07-05 01:31

manager   ~0005584

in the current code (and therefore in the next version) the blacklisting has been changed slightly. When a user unsubscribes they are blacklisted, and when they are re-imported they won't receive an email, BUT, if they go through the subscribe system again themselves and confirm it, they will be unblacklisted, as it is based on a user action, so it can be considered safe to do so,