View Issue Details

IDProjectCategoryView StatusLast Update
0001920phplist applicationSubscribe Processpublic07-07-05 21:26
ReporterRickL1966 
PrioritynormalSeveritymajorReproducibilityalways
Status resolvedResolutionfixed 
Product Version1.9.3 
Target VersionFixed in Version2.9.5 
Summary0001920: Blacklist cannot be disabled
DescriptionWhen a user unsubscribes from a list, (goes on vacation or something) they cannot get e-mails again. There should be an option to enable or disable black-listing users. IMHO, this is the worse "enhancement" I've seen for my situation.
Additional InformationI have a lot of subscribers that unsubscribe and re-subscribe (I send out an average of 100 messages a week) and no one wants to come back from vacation with their mailbox overloaded. So, they unsubscribe. When they return, they re-subscribe. It's taking up too much of my time to remove them from the blacklist.
TagsNo tags attached.

Relationships

related to 0002457 resolvedmichiel PHPList v2.9.5 release 
related to 0003558 assignedmichiel Add date for suspending email 
related to 0002608 resolvedmichiel update default unsubscribe message 

Activities

RickL1966

01-10-04 17:48

reporter   ~0002097

As I mentioned on the forum, not everyone realizes they can remove themselves from all lists (under preferences) they subscribe to when they are away, and then check them back on. Everyone I know has a habit of unsubscribing and then re-subscribing when they return. All other mailing lists I'm on have a subscribe/unsubscribe feature... I would still recommend making it optional to blacklist users.

michiel

04-10-04 12:14

manager   ~0002116

It's a design issue, that will probably not reverse. The thing is that other users need the option to never receive email again. It is probably a good thing to change the terminology in certain places to make this more clear. Temporary unsubscribes need to be done via the "preferences" page and blacklisting is for really never receiving anything ever any more.

michiel

07-07-05 21:26

manager   ~0005563

I have now updated the blacklist mechanisn to allow users who personally go through the subscribe process including confirmation to be automatically removed from the blacklist. That does make sense, as it is a user confirmed process. Basically the blacklist will ensure that a user will not receive emails, even if an admin imports and confirms them again. But if the user confirms themselves, it should be regarded as a valid request.